Google Keyboard gets Bengali, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Tamil & Telugu support

Google Keyboard updateGoogle has released an update for its Keyboard app for Android in Google Play. The update is a minor one, but brings support for six Indian languages as well as a new keyboard layout for Hindi called “Hindi (Compact)”. Hindi (Compact) offers most language characters including consonants and vowels in a single view and rest of them can be accessed by long-pressing select keys. On the other hand, in the normal Hindi language layout, the characters are available in two views.

The new Indian languages that made their way to Google Keyboard are Bengali, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Tamil and Telugu. In addition, Google has including support for Tamil (Singapore) in the app.

Among other changes, Google has tweaked the settings interface in the app. Apart from the new languages support and the new settings UI, we won’t see any other changes in the application. We are waiting for an official change-log to get a confirmation on the same.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: